February 12, 2018 @ 7:00 pm
QPAC Concert Hall
Grey St & Melbourne St
South Brisbane QLD 4101

ANNA CLYNE Prince of Clouds Australian Premiere
TCHAIKOVSKY Serenade for Strings in C major
MISSY MAZZOLI Dark with Excessive Bright
World Premiere*
BRAHMS (arr. strings) String Sextet No.2 in G major
* Commissioned by the Australian Chamber Orchestra and Aurora Orchestra
Richard Tognetti Director & Violin
Maxime Bibeau Double Bass
Ike See Violin
Glenn Christensen Violin
with Musicians from the Australian National Academy of Music

This is an explosive start to our 2018 Season.

Brahms’ Sextet in G major is so rich, so melodic, and so emotively powerful that, when bolstered in our new arrangement for full string orchestra, Richard Tognetti calls it Brahms’ ‘Fifth Symphony’. Add to that the relentlessly youthful energy from the players of the Australian National Academy of Music (ANAM), and you’re witnessing something akin to alchemy.

When your senses need soothing, Tchaikovsky’s soaring Serenade for Strings makes sure that whatever lies deep in our hearts gets a chance to gasp for air. Then it’s back to the future with two new works by Missy Mazzoli and Anna Clyne. Brooklyn-born Mazzoli’s world premiere concerto was commissioned especially for our Principal Double Bass Maxime Bibeau, in honour of his 20 years with the Orchestra.

Anna Clyne’s Grammy Award-nominated double violin concerto, Prince of Clouds, receives its Australian Premiere. The concerto, which the New York Times described as ‘ravishing’, gives two of our newest stars Ike See and Glenn Christensen their moment to shine.

In one word: epic.

Click Here for more Information

Bookmark the permalink.